Image Source:


After a grueling series of 73 games, the cream of the crop has emerged, revealing the top 2 contenders. Remarkably, GT, much like the previous season, has once again claimed the pinnacle of the table with an impressive 20 points, while CSK secured the second position with a commendable 17 points. This notable achievement marks their 12th season qualifying for the playoffs, and their 9th final solidifying their unrivaled status as the most consistent team in the illustrious history of the IPL. Now, the focus shifts to Ahmedabad, where a high-stakes encounter awaits, as the victor of this crucial match will be crowned champions

Barring a solitary anomaly when Rinku Singh unleashed a relentless onslaught, plundering an astonishing 40 runs in a mere span of 7 consecutive deliveries, the performance of Gujarat Titans this season has been nothing short of impeccable, reminiscent of their previous campaign. Saha, capitalizing on the powerplay overs, has consistently ensured that GT launches into each game with a blistering start. Notably, they entrusted Sudharshan with the pivotal number 3 position, reaping the rewards of his back-to-back half-centuries. They brought him back in the last match where he scored a handy 40 odd. A customary Tewatia flourish further bolstered their tally with valuable 2 points on couple of occasions. Overcoming a dismal previous season, Vijay Shankar has displayed brilliance in five remarkable innings. It appears as though every endeavor they undertake transforms into pure gold. Furthermore, their astute decision to reinstate Mohit Sharma, a formidable bowler and a standout performer in their ranks, who was last witnessed in action in 2020, has proven to be a masterstroke. He has 24 wickets in the tournamnent including a 5 fer against MI in Q2. Noor Ahmed, an unpredictable wildcard, has captivated audiences with his extraordinary skills throughout the tournament, while Mohammad Shami has earned the distinction of claiming the most wickets during the Powerplay phase this season.

Considering the number of injuries CSK faced this season, their squad strength, and their performance in the previous year, there were conflicting sentiments about their potential success this year. However, against all odds, CSK has surpassed everyone's expectations given the challenging circumstances. The key to CSK's triumph can be attributed to their consistent adherence to a tried-and-tested template that has been witnessed over the years. This template involves having a prolific overseas batsman as a run machine at the top, with two middle-order batsmen contributing regularly. Additionally, they rely on an Indian fast bowler who excels in the Powerplay, as well as a formidable death bowler who consistently delivers. Rahane and Dube have displayed exceptional performances in their respective roles. Dube, in particular, has hit more sixes against spinners than any other batsman, while Rahane boasts an impressive strike rate against pace. Tushar Deshpande has emerged as a revelation with the new ball, capably shouldering the responsibility in the absence of Chahar. Pathirana, without a doubt, has been CSK's X factor, and the transition of responsibility from Bravo to Pathirana has been officially acknowledged.



Probable XI 

Chennai Super Kings 

Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ajinkya Rahane, Shivam Dube, Moeen Ali, MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Tushar Deshpande, Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana (sub)


Gujarat Titans 

Wriddhiman Saha(w), Shubman Gill, Sai Susarshan, Vijay Shankar (impact sub), Hardik Pandya(c), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Abhinav Manohar, Mohit Sharma, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami, Noor Ahmad, Joshua Little





Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

-Average Total batting 1st: 169.7
-Average 1st innings winning total: 181.7

-Highest total: 233/3 -  GT  vs MI, 2023
-Lowest total: 102/10 - RR v SRH, 2014 

-Total Match Played: 26
-Batting First Won: 13
-Batting Second Won: 13



Head to Head 

GT leads by 3-1 

Most Runs

278- Ruturaj Gaikwad
123 - Shubhman Gill

Most Wickets

7 - Mohammad Shami
5 - Alzaari Joseph

Points Table

CSK: 2nd
GT: 1st 

Team Form (last 5 games)

GT:  L  W W L W 



Match Ups 

Ruturaj v Rashid: 84 off 57, 2 out
Ruturaj v Shami: 46 off 66
Miller v Jadeja: 121 off 72, 2 out 
Rahane v Shami: 86 off 50
Rayudu v Rashid: 91 off 73, 1 out 
Rayudu v Mohit: 54 off 44,
6 out 
Moeen v Rashid: 76 off 56, 4 out
Dhoni v Mohit: 48 off 24, 2 out 
Shankar v Jadeja: 23 off 38
Gill v Chahar: 62 off 47, 3 out 



Form Update ( last 5 innings )



Key Players 

Rashid Khan

He should be your automatic rather a blind pick in your fantasy 11. He is arguably the greatest t20 bowler with more than 500 wickets. He is one of  the three bowlers to pick 15 + wickets in a season for 7 consecutive times. In addition to that, he knows how to use the long handle down the order and displayed his prowess with the bat against MI with a knock of 79*

Shubhman Gill

He is the orange cap holder with 851 runs at a SR of 156. Fresh from a match winning 100 in the last game against MI. He has 3 100s in last 4 games.  


Hardik Pandya

Pandya has been struggling with the bat and his last 25 - 30 t20 innings paint a poor picture. His SR is around 125 and hasn’t played a “good” innings apart from that knock against Lucknow where he smashed 66 in a low scoring game.But given his bowling and ability to pick the odd wickets in the powerplay its difficult to rule him out of the game. He had a memorable season last year where he scored 487 runs and was the MoM  in the final. 

Devon Conway

He has been CSK's Mr Consistent this season with more than 600 runs. He plays both spin and pace exceptionally well. 

Ravindra Jadeja

Given how the wicket has played out, he along with Moeen and Theekshana are going to cause few problems to GT's lineup in the middle overs. This has been Jadeja's one of better seasons with the ball. He has picked 19 wickets at an economy of 7.5


Fantasy XI 

Write a Comment